Pebre

One of my favourite sauces at the moment is Pebre, which is a delicious Chilean style sauce. For some reason I’ve been craving it a lot lately and I even feel like having it for breakfast (although I have not tried it yet).  So in case you’ve never had it and are dying to try it, I’ve decided to share the recipe with you (or at least my version of it) so here it is!

Ingredients:

  • 1x Coriander bunch
  • Fresh tomatoes or a tin of tomatoes. Around 800grms.
  • 5x shallots
  • Chillies. It’s up to you how many you use. I’ve used green and red chillies to make the sauce this time. Sometimes I like to use Jalapenos as well.
  • Garlic. And once again it is up to you how much you would like to add. I’ve used a clove of garlic this time.
  • Salt, pepper and oil.

First, blend your tomatoes using a blender. You can blend them lightly to leave the tomatoes a little chunky if you like.

Then, chop up all your ingredients: shallots, chillies, coriander and garlic. You can chop them up as finely as you like. I personally like it a little chunky so that it has some texture. 

Finally, mix all your ingredients in a bowl and add some salt, pepper and oil. And you are ready to enjoy! I like to have it when I cook Mexican inspired meals, hot dogs or anything else for that matter!

It is my absolute favourite sauce right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

