Melancholy

There were many things that I enjoyed about the Eat Pray Love book and here is one section of the book that I would like to share with you (p.106):

On her travels to Venice where it rains regularly she says:

…I don’t get depressed here. I can cope with, and even somehow enjoy the melancholy of Venice, just for a few days. Somewhere in me I am able to recognise that this is not my melancholy; this is the city’s own indigenous melancholy, and I am healthy enough these days to be able to feel the difference between me and it.

I remember as a teenager going to my grandparent’s house with an incredible sense of dread. I felt it had nothing to do with them, but it was the small country town where they lived that seemed to be so dark and sad as the sun came down in the afternoons. Back then I could not recognize the town’s own melancholy; I simply just carried that as my own.

This photo was taken back in 2006 and the small town has barely changed since I was a teenager.

Leave a Reply

