What’s the defining word of your city?

As you probably know by now, I’ve just finished reading the book Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. In the book there was a particular section that I wanted to share with you. On page 108, Liz and her friend Giulio start talking about how every city has a single word that defines it, a word that identifies most people that live in that particular city. When Liz quizzed her friend Giulio about what was the word for Rome he simply said ‘Sex’. The word for Rome is Sex. I have never been to Rome myself, so can’t say whether this is an accurate word for the city but it definitely makes it sound quite appealing! Right now I feel like I should definitely consider a holiday there 🙂

Later, Giulio quizzed Liz about what word would define New York City and she said it would be ‘Achieve’. Once again, I have no idea whether this is reflective of New York City but I get the feeling that based on stereotypes about the city that it would be quite an accurate word.

All this got me thinking about what would be the word for Canberra, what is the word that defines this city, the place where I live right now. After having a good think about it the word for Canberra at a collective level would be ‘Quiet’. Canberra is a very quiet and relaxed place, in fact, many would actually say it’s a rather boring city. Just a few weeks ago I heard someone calling it Can-boring which made me laugh as that’s how many young people feel about this city.

At a personal level however, I would have to say the word that defines Canberra for me is ‘Cold’ as there is not a single day that I don’t feel cold, or worry about getting cold or think about getting cold. The word cold is constantly used in my vocabulary. In fact, I don’t think there is a single day in my life here in Canberra that the word cold is not spoken – EVER.

I also asked my husband the same question and he said that collectively the word for Canberra would be ‘Government’ as it is the capital city of Australia but at a personal level he said it would be ‘family’.   

 

Taken by John_Armytage

Hello? … Where’s everybody? In typical Canberra style, no-one’s around!!!

 

Taken by tishooo

 

Taken by yury

What’s the defining word of your city? 

2 thoughts on “What’s the defining word of your city?

Leave a Reply

