About me

Like most people, I find it really hard to write about myself. Sometimes I’m just not too sure how personal I want to get online with a bunch of ‘strangers’. The problem with not sharing anything personal is that nobody gets to know you and I think that most people are looking to make a personal connection with someone rather than just have a ‘business’ type relationship. So I tried really hard and decided to write my story on my Etsy shop and this is what I came up with:

I love patterns, vibrant colours and beautiful textures. A few years ago when I started to think about what I wanted to do I came up with a long list of things that I enjoyed doing. On my list I had stationery, wallpaper, cards, clothes, journals and the list went on and on. All these things had one thing in common – the pattern on them. Soon after that, I started designing patterns in my spare time, I did hundreds of them and I had the best time creating them. It took me a while to realise that there was actually a name for what I was doing and it was called Surface Pattern Design!

I love to create patterns and I’m particularly drawn to geometric and strong bold designs. Patterns are great in that they have a wide range of applications for home wares, fabrics, stationery products and the list goes on and on. I don’t think the word ‘love’ can actually fully express how much I love and enjoy doing what I do!

I dreamt about having an Etsy shop under my name for years and now finally in January 2015 I have finally open this Etsy shop ☺

This year I will have some of my work at the Hong Kong Houseware Fair, Canton Fair in China as well as Surtex in the United States which is one of the largest art licensing shows in the world. There are lots of things happening so if you want to know what I’m up to, please go to my personal blog https://claudiaowen.wordpress.com

At a more personal level, I was born and raised in Chile in a town called Rancagua. I had a beautiful childhood there and in my mid teens my family and I moved all the way from our hometown of Rancagua to the beautiful capital city of Australia in Canberra. The move was a big challenge but I survived and I can say that Canberra now feels like home and what a wonderful feeling that is!

I have 3 beautiful sisters and the most wonderful and kind hearted parents you could ever dream of. I am also married to a wonderful man and now more recently, heaven has blessed me with a beautiful baby girl.

You can take a look at my About page on Etsy here.

Claudia-Owen-About-Me-Etsy-Page

Leave a Reply

