Student work

Once in a while I’m contacted by students who have school assignments and want to ask me questions about me and my work. I must admit, it’s an honour to be asked to do these types of things. It’s great to know that these students have found me and that they would like to use my work for their assignments. It’s so sweet J Today, I wanted to share a section of a short interview I did for a student in the UK a few months ago.

1. What are your inspirations
My inspiration comes from many places but I’m particularly drawn to geometric and strong bold patterns. There are a many things that spark my creativity, such as architecture, photography, nature or simply taking a trip to a new place.

Alchemy Silk Scarf by Claudia Owen 2

2. What are your working philosophies
I believe in finding meaning in the work that you do and that hard work, determination and focus will get you closer to your dreams.

3. What are the main materials that you use?
For my hand drawn work I like to use pen and paper. I use different types of pens, graphite pencils of different weights and I even use ball pen as it can provide a different textures and effects. For my digital work I use Illustrator and Photoshop.

4. Which techniques/processes do you use?
When I work using illustrator I like to hand draw my illustrations and then I scan them in and adjust and color them digitally. Once all my motifs are created I put them in repeat or create design mock-ups depending on what is needed.

Geometry-Silk-Scarf-by-Claudia-Owen-5

5. Which movement do you see yourself in and why?
A lot of the artwork that I’ve created to date tends to be mostly abstract and I also have created a lot of work that is geometric. I’m not sure if these belong to a ‘movement’ as such but they seem to be the kind of style that comes naturally to me.

6. Do you belong to any groups?
I’m part of a number of groups including Cultivate Art Collective which is a group that supports artists and helps exhibit at international trade shows such as Surtex and Printsource.

I’m also a member of Circle of Designers where we aim to bring eco-friendly textile products into the marketplace.

I’m also part of a number of online Facebook groups with people who share similar interest and where the main objective of the group is to provide moral support and share knowledge.

7. Have you received any awards etc.?
I haven’t received any awards to date.

Gemstone Silk Scarf by Claudia Owen 2

8. If you have any of the following could you send me links to a blog, website, Twitter, Flickr, Pinterest.
This is where you can find me:
Claudia Owen Blog, WebsiteTwitterFlickr and Pinterest.

I also have a Facebook page and I’m also on Instagram.
Facebook and Instagram.

9. Have you written any books?
I haven’t written any books yet but this is definitely on my to do list!

Leave a Reply

