Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre in Canberra

I must admit, I went to the Margaret Zhang workshop at the Canberra Centre just recently by pure luck. Let me explain. I only found out about the workshop just days before the event and by that time there were no tickets left for sale. So I decided to email the organisers just in case if they had any cancellations so they could put me on a waiting list for the event. Never in a million years I thought there were going to be any cancellations since who on earth would ever want to miss seeing Margaret Zhang?! Even if you were sick and in crutches you would still not miss this event. EVER. As luck would have it, I received an email the following day saying that they would love to have me at the workshop and that they would offer me a complimentary ticket! I thought, this must be my lucky day! But wait, there’s more! My good luck doesn’t stop there. On the day of the workshop they also had a fantastic raffle where they selected 3 winners. As you might have guessed it, I actually won the first prize! I got a $100 voucher for Laser Clinics Australia which I have already used 🙂

So enough about me and let me tell you a little bit about the workshop. Margaret is a very impressive lady and she has worked with some incredible clients including Louis Vuitton, Clinique and Swarovski. She’s an amazing photographer, stylist, creative director and writer.

Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre 1

Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre 5

Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre 3

Our beautiful venue for the workshop located right at the Canberra Centre

Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre Claudia Owen 1

Arriving at the workshop (Wearing my own leggings of course). I felt like a celebrity. But where’s my limo?

Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre Claudia Owen 2

Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre 4

Margaret shared some her favourite apps for editing photos which included: Snapseed, VSSCO Cam and Luminance. I have never heard of these apps until now so I look forward to test them out.

Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre 2

When putting together your shot make sure you think about your composition, lighting, colour balance, vector/lines and signature (your signature style).

When it comes to lighting, try to photograph in natural light. The best time of day is after sunrise and before sunset. Shooting in the middle of the day in the sun would probably create hard shadows on your subject.

Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre 6

Margaret showing us how to set up a flat lay. She set this up with things she had in her handbag which included her antibiotics, Strepsils and some half eaten macaroons. As you can see, she can turn just about anything into a beautiful flatlay. A great tip to help you layout a beautiful flat lay is to use books to help you frame the shot.

Margaret Zhang Workshop at the Canberra Centre 7

Margaret is currently using a Nikon D600.

I’d like to thank the Canberra Centre for organising a fantastic workshop and I look forward to participating in future events.

If you want to find out more about Margaret Zhang please take a look at her gorgeous blog Shine by Three.

Image credit: Canberra Centre

Leave a Reply

